News from Miller

View our latest press information

Graham Clarke of Miller steps up as chairman of LIIBA

Miller chief executive Graham Clarke has been elected chairman of LIIBA, the association that represents insurance brokers in the London and international markets. He succeeds David Margrett.

Mr Clarke has been on the governing body of LIIBA and its predecessor, the London Market Brokers’ Committee, since 2008.

Jonathan Palmer-Brown was re-elected deputy chairman, whilst Adrian Clark of Aon Benfield, Jeremy Cooke of Marsh and Steve Hearn of Willis were elected to this position for the first time.

“Our top priority continues to be the promotion of London so that it remains the place where the world wants to do business,” said Mr Clarke. “In the coming year the main focus will be on a myriad of regulatory and competition issues and the continuing drive to modernise the market.

“LIIBA is well placed to influence all these areas because of its excellent relationships, and will continue to work hard on behalf of its members.”

LIIBA (the London and International Insurance Brokers’ Association) has more than 120 members, representing nearly all the London-based international broker sector.

LIIBA members are responsible for handling premiums through the London market worth more than £37 billion p.a. and many billions more across the world. They contribute an estimated £1.75 billion p.a. to UK invisible earnings.

The full board is now as follows: Chairman - Graham Clarke (Miller). Deputies - Adrian Clark (Aon Benfield), Jeremy Cooke (Marsh), Steve Hearn (Willis) and Jonathan Palmer-Brown (JLT). Members -  Charles Berry (BPL Global), George Boden (Lonmar Global Risks), Michael Donegan (Price Forbes), Chris Elliott (Tysers), Patrick Holcroft (RFIB), Sean Hooper (Cooper Gay), Julian James (Lockton), Andrew Marcell (Guy Carpenter), Frank Murphy (THB), David Ross (Arthur J Gallagher).